Moree Plains Shire A great place to live work and play

Follow Moree Plains Shire on Facebook Follow Moree Plains Shire on Instagram Follow Moree Plains Shire on Twitter Moree Plains Shire Council on Linkedin You Tube
A- A A+

Cr. Humphries returned as Mayor, Cr. Smith announced as Deputy

Councillor Katrina Humphries has been re-elected to the office of Mayor of Moree Plains Shire Council, with Councillor Greg Smith elected to the office of Deputy Mayor.

During the Ordinary Council Meeting on 27 September 2018, there were two nominations for the office of Mayor, being Cr Katrina Humphries and Cr George Chiu. Following an ordinary secret ballot, Councillor Katrina Humphries received 5 votes to Councillor Chiu’s 4 votes, resulting in Councillor Humphries being announced as Mayor.

The office of Deputy Mayor received only one nomination, being Cr Greg Smith, who was appointed for a period of one year. Cr Smith replaces Cr Stephen Ritchie, who has held the office of Deputy Mayor for a period of two years.

Cr Humphries thanked Cr George Chiu for standing for the office of Mayor and Cr Greg Smith on his successful appointment to the office of Deputy Mayor. Cr Humphries also took the opportunity to acknowledge Cr Stephen Ritchie’s dedicated service to the community during the past two years while he has held the office of Deputy Mayor.

On accepting the Mayoral position, Councillor Humphries said “I am very proud and honoured to represent the Moree Plains community as Mayor and would like to thank my loyal supporters”.

The term of office for the Mayor will run until September 2020; at which time the next Local Government elections will be held and all Councillor positions become vacant.