Header Water

A- A A+

Floodplain Risk Management – Moree and Surrounds

Moree Plains Shire Council Floodplain Risk Management Committee Members

Councillor Katrina Humphries
Councillor John Tramby
Chris Hartin
Sonia Rowe
Rosemary Shepherd
Jamie Davis
Julie Depczynski
Bruce Monie
Kelly James
Neville Mitchell
Rob Long
Greg Hartman
Garry Onus
Dominique Hodgkinson
William Penfold
Zara Lowien
Katrina Makim
Council Engineering and Planning Staff
Office of Environment and Heritage (OEH)
State Emergency Service (SES)

If you would like to join the Floodplain Management Community Information Group email list, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Back to original article

Floodplain Risk Management – Moree and Surrounds

Under the NSW Government’s Flood Prone Land Policy, councils across NSW are responsible for the management of flood liable land.

We have a responsibility to manage floodplains to ensure that any:

  • New development will not experience undue flood risk; and
  • Existing development will not be adversely flood affected through increased damage or hazard as a result of any new development.

We need to have a policy with respect to controlling development on flood prone land and in doing so, be satisfied that all new development adequately minimises the risk to human life and damage to property, and avoids significant adverse impacts on flood behaviour and the environment. 

 Committee Members  Council Reports and Minutes Current Policy Keep in touch Media, Fact sheets, FAQ Presentations Related Documents